RSS Fearless, RSS Brave and RSS Dauntless decommissioned

The Republic of Singapore Navy (RSN) decommissioned three Fearless-class Patrol Vessels (PVs) RSS Fearless, RSS Brave and RSS Dauntless with a  ceremony held at Tuas Naval Base on Aug 27. 

RSS Fearless and RSS Brave were commissioned on 5 October 1996 while RSS Dauntless was commissioned on 3 May 1997 by then Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Defence Dr Tony Tan Keng Yam. Over the years, the ships safeguarded Singapore’s maritime interests and territorial integrity through numerous operations at sea. They also advanced defence relations by participating in bilateral and multilateral exercises with foreign navies.

Commander Maritime Security Task Force RADM Seah Poh Yeen, who delivered the citations, paid tribute to the three ships and to the generations of its crew members. He said, “Throughout their operational service, RSS Fearless, RSS Brave and RSS Dauntless were an integral part of the Maritime Security Task Force (MSTF)’s High Readiness Core and truly lived up to 182 Squadrons motto of being “Sharp and Vigilant”… The success of these Patrol Vessels would not have been possible without the unwavering dedication, professionalism and sacrifices of the many generations of sailors who served on board.”

The operational duties of RSS Fearless, RSS Brave and RSS Dauntless will be handed over to the new LMVs. The LMVs are more versatile, and equipped with sharper, stronger and a wider range of capabilities. All eight LMVs will be fully operational by 2020.

Also present at the decommissioning ceremony were past and present crew members of RSS Fearless, RSS Brave and RSS Dauntless as well as senior RSN officers.